Curriculum Design and Instructional Services

  • The Office of Curriculum Design and Instructional Services facilitates and provides direction to the ongoing process of curriculum design, content delivery, instructional practices, implementation, and evaluation.

    The staff ensures that all course and grade-level curriculum documents are aligned with the Virginia Standards of Learning (SOLs) and conform to the curriculum framework adopted by ACPS. This office is also responsible for all aspects of textbook and instructional materials acquisition, distribution and inventory.

    Major Responsibilities:

    • Design and development of all ACPS curriculum guides and support resources
    • Alignment of ACPS curriculum with division Strategic Plan and Multi-Tier System of Supports (MTSS)
    • Collaboration between teams to address the needs of all learners, including English learners, special education, talented and gifted, and free/reduced meals recipients
    • Facilitation of all aspects of textbook acquisition and distribution
    • Customized services including lesson design, data analysis, modeling and coaching in best practices, and content-based professional development

    See all Staff Curriculum Resources on Canvas.

    CONTACT INFORMATION

    Dr. John L. Brown
    Executive Director
    Curriculum Design and Instructional Services
    703-619-8020
    john.brown@acps.k12.va.us

    See a list of our team members.

    Whom to Contact for:

    General Information (Curriculum, Instructional Policies, MTSS):
    Dr. John L. Brown
    john.brown@acps.k12.va.us

    Secondary English (Comprehensive and Honors English, and Professional Development):
    Kim Schell
    kimberly.schell@acps.k12.va.us

    Secondary Mathematics (Curriculum, Lesson Design, Professional Development):
    Suzanne Futtrell
    amy.futrell@acps.k12.va.us

    Science (K-12) (Curriculum, Textbooks, Instructional Materials, and Professional Development):
    Daniel Alcazar-Roman (daniel.alcazar-roman@acps.k12.va.us) and Jennifer Lay (jennifer.lay@acps.k12.va.us)

    Social Studies (Curriculum, Textbooks, Instructional Materials, Professional Development):
    Sarah Whelan
    sarah.whelan@acps.k12.va.us

    Fine Arts (Visual Arts, Band, Orchestra, Dance, Vocal, Drama):
    Andrew Watson
    andrew.watson@acps.k12.va.us

    Career and Technical Education (Industry Certification, Dual Enrollment, Economics and Personal Finance):
    Sherri Chapman
    sherri.chapman@acps.k12.va.us

    Physical Education, Health and Family Life Education:
    Michael Humphreys
    michael.humphreys@acps.k12.va.us

    Textbooks and Instructional Materials (Purchase Order Status and Inventory Questions):
    Dr. Anne Booth
    anne.booth@acps.k12.va.us

    World Languages (Curriculum, Textbooks, Instructional Materials, Professional Development):
    Tanja Mayer-Harding 
    tanja.mayer-harding@acps.k12.va.us