Adult Education

  • NOTICE: Registration for the Fall Session will begin on September 4, 2018.

    ACPS Adult Education offers a variety of programs that provide educational opportunities in Adult Basic Education, Adult High School completion, English Learners (EL), GED preparation and testing, and workforce development training.

    Our mission is to raise the literacy levels of adults who do not have a high school credential or adequate English language proficiency speaking and writing skills; and provide workforce readiness and development.

    We currently serve students at three locations, which include our main campus at Braddock Place (ACPS Central Office), T.C. Williams High School and the Alexandria City Adult Detention Center.

    Major Responsibilities

    Alexandria City Public Schools Adult Learning Center: Partners in Your Future

    • Official Pearson VUE® GED Testing Center
    • Adult Basic Education (ABE) and GED Program
    • Official GED Testing
    • English Learners (ELL) Program
    • Adult High School Diploma Program
    • ALC Workforce Development Program
    • Newcomers English Learners (NEL) Program
    • Adult High School Credit Recovery
    • Individual Student Alternative Education Plan (ISAEP) Program
  • Campus Locations

    Braddock Place Campus - Main Administrative Office & GED Test Center
    1340 Braddock Place, 7th Floor
    Alexandria, VA 22314
    703-619-8027

    (view directions and parking information)

    T.C. Williams Evening Administrative Center
    Evening ELL, GED and Adult High School
    3330 King Street, Room A123
    Alexandria, VA 22302
    703-824-6845

    Alexandria City Detention Center
    2003 Mill Road
    Alexandria, VA 22314

     

    CONTACT INFORMATION

    Adult Education Staff

    Program Director 
    Teri Barnett
    teri.barnett@acps.k12.va.us
    703-619-8302

    Program Manager
    Nat Geary
    nat.geary@acps.k12.va.us
    703-619-8303

    Administrative Assistant
    Carmen Torres
    carmen.torres@acps.k12.va.us
    703-619-8304

    Evening Program Managers

    Carolyn Lewis
    carolyn.lewis@acps.k12.va.us
    703-824-6845

    Stacy Morris
    stacy.morris@acps.k12.va.us

    703-824-6845

    Evening Administrative Assistant
    Debbie Johnson
    deborah.johnson@acps.k12.va.us
    703-824-6845

    Chief GED Examiner
    Larry Carter
    larry.carter@acps.k12.va.us
    703-619-8027

    Outreach Support Specialist
    Lisa Abualy                                                                                                                                                                                                                    lisa.abualy@acps.k12.va.us
    703-619-8027