Skip To Main Content

Main Navigation

Mobile Translate ( don't delete )

Mobile Utility

Header Holder

Header Right

Header Utility

Translate

Mobile Toggle ( don't delete )

Breadcrumb

Family and Community Engagement (FACE)

Family and Community Engagement Center. Engaged Families, Successful Students.

Get involved in your student’s educational experience with the FACE Center!

Alexandria City Public Schools (ACPS) is committed to creating meaningful partnerships with families to support our students’ academic and social-emotional development.

Working under the umbrella of supports that are part of the Office of Community Partnerships and Engagement, the Family and Community Engagement Center (FACE) is dedicated to creating stronger and more meaningful engagement between schools, families, and communities to support student academic success and healthy social-emotional development.

As a central resource for family engagement, FACE staff strive to strengthen family and school partnerships and increase two-way communication, cultural understanding and academic achievement. By assisting families in navigating the school system, we are here to offer support and opportunities for families to actively take part in their children’s academic lives.

SIGN UP TO RECEIVE SCHOOL NEWSLETTERS!

Our Goals

Create meaningful opportunities to support children's academic success and development

Connect families to tools, information and services supporting educational and overall quality of life

Eliminate barriers to family engagement

Let's Make a Difference Together

Stay connected with ParentSquare!

“Family Engagement is a full, equal and equitable partnership among families, educators, and community partners to promote children's learning and development from birth through college and career.”

Karen Mapp

FACE Team

Krishna J. Leyva, MSW
Assistant Director, Family and Community Engagement Center
krishna.leyva@acps.k12.va.us

Jimena Campos
Administrative Assistant
face@acps.k12.va.us

Avanda Williams-White
Family Engagement Coordinator
avanda.williams-white@acps.k12.va.us 

Kathryn (Kathy) Mimberg
Volunteer Specialist
volunteer@acps.k12.va.us

Adriana Olguin Alcala
Division-Wide Family Liaison (Spanish)
adriana.olguin.alcala@acps.k12.va.us 

Karina Ramos
Division-Wide Family Liaison (Spanish)
karina.ramos@acps.k12.va.us 

Tesfaye Amberber
Division-Wide Family Liaison (Amharic)
tesfaye.amberber@acps.k12.va.us

Halima Hazara Deeba
Division-Wide Family Liaison (Dari)
halima.hazara.deeba@acps.k12.va.us

 
ACPS FACE Center (located at Ferdinand T. Day Elementary School)
1701 N. Beauregard St. | Door 12, 6th Floor
Alexandria, VA 22311

703-619-8055 | face@acps.k12.va.us