Skip To Main Content

Main Navigation

Mobile Translate ( don't delete )

Mobile Utility

Header Holder

Header Right

Header Utility

Translate

Mobile Toggle ( don't delete )

Breadcrumb

Adult Education

ACPS Adult Learning Center/Adult Education information

Class registration for the Spring 2022 semester ended March 18, 2022. If you or someone you know is interested in Alexandria City Public Schools (ACPS) adult programs, please email adulted@acps.k12.va.us to be added to our upcoming list for Fall registration, Aug. 22 - Sept. 1, 2022. For more information, visit the FAQ page.

Alexandria City Public Schools (ACPS) Adult Education offers a variety of programs that provide educational opportunities in Adult Basic Education, Adult High School completion, English Language Learners (ELL), GED preparation and testing, and workforce development training.

Our mission is to raise the literacy levels of adults who do not have a high school credential, adequate English language proficiency in speaking and writing, or workforce readiness and development.

We currently serve students at three locations, which include our main campus at Braddock Place (ACPS Central Office), Alexandria City High School, and the Alexandria City Adult Detention Center.

ACPS Adult Programs Major Responsibilities

  • Official Pearson VUE® GED Testing Center

  • Adult Basic Education (ABE) and GED Program

  • Official GED Testing

  • English Language Learners (ELL) Program

  • Adult High School Diploma Program

  • ALC Workforce Development Program

  • Newcomers English Language Learners (NELL) Program

  • Adult High School Credit Recovery

  • Individual Student Alternative Education Plan (ISAEP) Program

  • Adult Education Department Description (PDF)

  • Campus Locations  

  • Braddock Place Campus - Main Administrative Office & GED Test Center 1340 Braddock Place, 7th Floor Alexandria, VA 22314 703-619-8027 Directions and Parking Information  

  • Alexandria City High School Evening Administrative Center Evening ELL, GED and Adult High School 3330 King Street, Main Office Alexandria, VA 22302 703-824-6845  

  • Alexandria City Detention Center 2003 Mill Road Alexandria, VA 22314  

Contact Information

Adult Education Staff

  • Teri Barnett Director teri.barnett@acps.k12.va.us 703-619-8302
     

  • Sahar Wiltshire Assessment/Data Specialist sahar.wiltshire@acps.k12.va.us 703-619-8490
     

  • Carmen Molina Administrative Assistant carmen.molina@acps.k12.va.us 703-619-8304  
     

  • Claudia Torres Office Support claudia.torres@acps.k12.va.us 703-619-8303
     

  • Lenwood Roberts Outreach Support Specialist lenwood.roberts@acps.k12.va.us 703-619-8027
    Larry Carter Chief GED Examiner larry.carter@acps.k12.va.us 703-619-8027


  • Evening Program Managers  
  • Carolyn Lewis carolyn.lewis@acps.k12.va.us 703-824-6845  
     

  • Stacy Morris stacy.morris@acps.k12.va.us 703-824-6845  
     

  • Debbie Johnson Evening Administrative Assistant deborah.johnson@acps.k12.va.us 703-824-6845